November 15, 2015, by Graham Kendall

Research Centres and Research Groups at the University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus

The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) has recently completed an exercise to establish Research Centres and Research Groups. This has been done for a variety of reasons, inclusing:

  1. To more actively promote our research both internally and externally
  2. To have a “go to” person for a given research area
  3. To enable us to be more strategic about where we direct our internal funding
  4. To enable better provision of cross faculty and cross disciplinary research
  5. To provide a structure that fits with the University’s Global Research Themes and Research Priority Areas
  6. To provide better structures to support grant applications to initiatives such as Newton, EU, as well as national funding agencies


Our current Research Centres are as follows:

Research Centre Director(s) EMAIL
MINDSET (Research Centre in Environmental Sustainability) Ahimsa Campos Arceiz
Centre for Islamic Business and Finance Research Centre (CIBFR) Nafis Alam
Centre for Sustainable Palm Oil Research (CSPOR) Denny Ng and Mei Fong and
Asia Aerospace City Research and Technology Centre (AARTC) Andy Chan
Institute of Asia and Pacific Studies (IAPS) Sumit Mandal


Our current Research Groups are as follows:

Group Director(s) EMAIL
Drug Delivery Research (DDR) Group Nash Billa
Active Vision Neil Mennie
Food & Pharmaceutical Engineering Group Ching Lik Hii
AppliedMathematics and Theoretical Physics (AMTP) Weang Kee Ho
Power, Machines, Drives and Control Haider Abbas
Applied Electromagnetic and Telecommunications Amin Malek Mohammadi
TROCARI – Tropical Catchment Research Initiative Stephanie Evers
Centre of Excellence for Green Technologies (CEGT) Dominic Foo
Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials Sivakumar Manickam
Combustion and Fuels Ng Hoon Kiat
Sustainable Process Integration (SPI) Nishanth Chemmangattuvalappil
Urban climate and Pollution Andy Chan
Intelligent Systems Research Group Rajprasad Kumar Rajkumar
Advanced Materials Research Group Khiew Poi Sim
Sahz nano- supercapacitor Pilot Plant Dino Isa
Renewable Energy Yousif Abdalla Abakr
Polymer Composites Research Group Tshai Kim Yeow
Structural Integrity and Dynamics Research Group Woo Ko Choong
Geomechanics Research Group Abdullahi Ali Mohamed


It should be noted that we expect this list of centres and groups to be refreshed on a regular basis.

Our Research Support Office is now working with these centres and groups to get them featured on our web pages.

Please feel free to contact the centre/group director should you want more information about a given research area. We will post links to each centre/group as soon as they are available.

Posted in Research at UNMC