July 24, 2020, by Dr. Meghan Gray

A different sort of graduation: #WeAreUon

Normally graduation is a much anticipated day in the academic calendar: nibbles, speeches, and photos with students and friends at the Physics reception, followed by pageantry and funny hats at the official ceremony. It’s a chance to celebrate and acknowledge achievement, and it’s also a chance to say goodbye.

Of course nothing is ‘normal’ at the moment, so today we had a graduation that was memorable for different reasons. On a Teams video call with (inevitably) dodgy internet connections but still an admirable number of silly hats, we celebrated all our graduating physics students – virtually.


We also took the chance to note the additional accomplishments of our prizewinners:

  • Barton Prize for highest marks on the BSc degree: Josephine Mellor and Tizayi Zirereza
  • Bill Moore Prize for best BSc project: Sakina Hansen, Royintan Dhatigara, and Patrick Murray 
  • Salmon Prize for best MSci project: Daniel Wray and Ruadhan Parnell
  • Salmon Prize for highest marks on MSci degree: Hugh Baxter and Joshua Eglinton
  • George Green Prize for outstanding BSc Mathematical Physics student: Tarun Shah
  • Tessella Prize* for the best 3rd or 4th year project involving computational work: Hugh Baxter and Adam Zwolinsky
  • Thomas Farr Citizenship award: Natalie Rhodes (PhysSoc president)

*Special thanks to Tessella for their ongoing sponsorship of the Tessella Prize.


And it wouldn’t be a virtual event without a hashtag – staff members also contributed video greetings to the #WeAreUoN social media feed throughout the day. From the serious to the not-so-serious…..

Congratulations Class of 2020!


Posted in NewsPhysSocStudent LifeTeachingUndergraduates