May 8, 2018, by jicke

Nottingham chemist wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry Award

Dr Deborah Kays, who works at the University of Nottingham, is the Royal Society of Chemistry Chemistry of Transition Metals winner for 2018.

Dr Kays’ work focuses on making metal compounds that are not stable under normal conditions. These compounds are of importance from the study of their unusual structures and bonding, and from the examination of their reactivity, which shows that they can effect unique chemical transformations. Her work has implications in medicine, agrochemicals, lubricants, and in the development of new molecules and materials.

Honoured and excited

She said: “I am very honoured and excited to be receiving the RSC Chemistry of the Transition Metals Award 2018, especially as I am aware of the outstanding chemists who have been past recipients. It is a great feeling to have my efforts and those of my co-workers and collaborators acknowledged in this way, and encourages us to further explore and drive the chemistry of very coordinatively and electronically unsaturated compounds.”

The Chemistry of Transition Metals Award is awarded for outstanding recent contributions to the development of very low coordinate, electronically unsaturated compounds of the transition metals. Dr Kays receives £2000 and a medal.

Innovation and expertise

Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said:

“The chemical sciences are vital for the wellbeing of our world and chemical scientists help to change people’s lives for the better. That’s why we’re so proud to celebrate the innovation and expertise of our community through our Prizes and Awards.

“This year’s inspiring and influential winners come from a range of specialisms, backgrounds, countries and communities. Each has done their bit to advance excellence in the chemical sciences – to improve the lives of people around the world now and in the future.”

Our winners are recognised for the originality and impact of their research, or for their contributions to the chemical sciences industry or chemistry education. The Awards also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, and the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

An illustrious list of 50 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including 2016 Nobel laureates Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa. 


Posted in Awards and accolades