April 30, 2012, by Emma Thorne

Welsh honour for Education professor

Congratulations go out to Professor W. John Morgan, UNESCO Chair of Political Economy and Education in the School of Education, who has been elected a Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales.

Fellows of the society are defined as being “…persons resident in Wales, persons of Welsh birth who are resident elsewhere and others with a particular connection with Wales; in each case, having a demonstrable record of excellence and achievement in one of the academic disciplines having made a distinguished contribution to the world of learning.”

Distinguished fellows

The President of the Learned Society of Wales is Sir John Cadogan CBE, formerly Chairman of the Joint Research Councils, while the distinguished fellowship also includes Dr Rowan Williams, Archbishop of Canterbury; Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, Vice-Chancellor, University of Cambridge; and, also from the University of Nottingham, Professor Laurence Eaves, FRS, and Lancashire-Spencer Professor of Physics.

Professor Morgan is to be admitted to the fellowship formally at the Society’s Annual General Meeting in Cardiff on May 23.

Professor Morgan’s other roles include Chairman of the Board of the United Kingdom National Commission for UNESCO.

Posted in Awards and accolades