July 4, 2014, by Giselle Kennedy

Celebration Event 2014

A big thank you to everybody who attended the 2014 Celebration Event! We’re pleased to announce that over 140 students and VIPs participated in the event and we received excellent feedback. We hope you had fun and enjoyed the cake!

cake photo1

As you may know, the Celebration Event commends students who have successfully completed the Nottingham Advantage Award. This year Award completers were welcomed to the stage by Professor Wyn Morgan, Assistant Pro-Vice Chancellor for Teaching and Learning. They were presented with certificates and praised for their achievements, as well as their personal and professional development. Well done completers!

A new addition to this year’s Celebration Event was the Module of the Year Award. Earlier in the year, we asked you to vote for your favourite module. We received lots of nominations, but in the end there was a clear winner – the Career-focused eMentoring Scheme! Module convenors, Adam Shooter and Jenny Patchitt were thrilled to receive this award, presented by Dr Sarah Speight, the Nottingham Advantage Awards’ Academic Director.


Among the audience were graduate recruiters including Barclays, Teach First, Coca Cola Enterprises, GE, Experian, EY, BT, Enterprise Rent-a-Car and Accenture. The host of the event, Steven Dudderidge, Head of Student Operations and Support, invited company representatives on to stage to present certificates and prizes to students who have demonstrated excellence throughout the Award.

The employer-supported prize winners are as follows:

  • Polina Medvedeva: The Vice-Chancellor’s Global Graduate Prize supported by STA
  • Sarah Orsbourn: Outstanding Contribution to the Community Prize supported by Teach First
  • Thomas Jervis: Leadership Prize supported by Barclays
  • Edgaras Virbickas: Imagination Prize supported by GE
  • Rachel Taylor: Enterprise in the Community Prize supported by EY
  • Irene Kwok: Collaboration and Communication Prize supported by BT
  • Luciana Pitcher: Female Entrepreneur of the Year Prize supported by Enterprise Rent-a-Car
  • Isabelle Cross: Professional Development Prize supported by Coca Cola Enterprises
  • Antonia Paget and Deborah Okperin: High Performance Prize supported by Accenture
  • Matthew Styles  Personal Development Prize supported by Experian

This isn’t the last time you’ll hear these names! In a few weeks’ time our prize winners will be guest blogging, so stay tuned to find out about what they won and what their next steps will be.

Alongside the studenDSC_9534t prize winners, employers recognised aspiring students who were Highly Commended for their efforts. The following students were presented with a special Highly Commended certificate:

  • Victoria Lonsdale: Outstanding Female Entrepreneur of the Year Prize
  • Feyisetan Oseni: Professional Development Prize
  • Akintunde Kuye: Enterprise in the Community Prize
  • Xiao Cheng Wong: Vice-chancellor’s  Global Graduate Prize

Employers were greatly impressed by the calibre of students on the Nottingham Advantage Award and thoroughly enjoyed the Celebration Event. But don’t just take our word for it:

Sarah Donoghue from EY said, “[I was] overwhelmed by the experience and hard work demonstrated at the prize-giving. Great afternoon had by all.”

Similarly, Ed Arthur from Teach First said, “as you may have heard, Nottingham students are very successful with Teach First applications – I believe more so than any other University. [A] large part of this is down to the extracurricular activities they get involved with, many of which are supported by the Nottingham Advantage Award.”

We are very proud of all of our Nottingham Advantage Award students and hope that the good work continues next year!

Posted in EventsPrizesSpecial Achievement AwardsStudent Experience